top of page

Community Renewable Energy Agency continues to grow

Updated: Jul 27, 2021

Parker Malatesta

SUMMIT COUNTY, Utah — 14 local governments in Utah have now signed on to join the Community Renewable Energy Agency. The group is a cooperative formed under state law (HB 411) in 2019 in order to reach net-100% renewable electricity.

“Summit County is thrilled to collaborate with local governments across the state to bring net-100% renewable energy to our communities,” said Glenn Wright, Summit County Council Chair. “The Utah Community Renewable Energy Agency represents the culmination of years of innovative problem solving and hard work. We are committed to working with the public, Rocky Mountain Power, state regulators and representatives from each community on the Community Renewable Energy Agency Board towards a vision of affordable, large-scale, and accessible renewable energy.”

The formation of the agency is due to the collaboration of community officials across Utah looking to reach net-100% renewable energy by 2030. The group recently finalized a governance agreement that establishes a decision-making system and a cost-sharing formula.

14 of the 23 eligible communities have signed on so far. The deadline for the remaining nine to sign on is January 31, 2022.

Read the full TownLift article here.

12 views0 comments
bottom of page